How best to "sell" Composite C1 to my co-workers?

Topics: Community
Dec 13, 2012 at 9:56 AM

I've just been given approval to demo C1 to my co-workers. They are currently using the Orchard CMS, and I really want to show them how much easier C1 is to use. Can any of you give me advice on how best to "sell" the software to them? Is there anything you would recommend I focus on? Should I configure the interface in a certain way (such as hiding certain perspectives, etc.)?

Any advice you can give will be gratefully received.

Dec 13, 2012 at 12:16 PM

Can you tell a bit more about what kind of business you're in?

• Are you designers, hardcore programmers?
  • Do you make websites, communities or business applications? 
  • Are you working in one-man teams or multiple developers on same projects?
Dec 13, 2012 at 1:14 PM
Edited Jan 28, 2013 at 9:23 AM

Hi burningice,

I'm a web designer and website manager... with just a bit of development experience in VBScript/JavaScript.  I work in the marketing department of a university.

We're interested in using C1 to run our main university website, which will list our courses, areas of research and community outreach projects. We'll also be using the site to issue news, press releases and advertise events.

Most of the people I'm going to be demoing to are academics and departmental administrators within the institution, but I will be showing the C1 system to a few developers at a later date.

My proposal to move away from Orchard, which is overly complex, and will hopefully help us reduce our dependence on our overworked team of developers, and allow us to bring in external; design agencies to refresh our site at short notice.

Coordinator
Dec 13, 2012 at 8:58 PM